Recently I have been pointing my beady eye at the topic of burnout. My interest was originally sparked while researching content for The Art of Community, but I have also had something of a personal interest in it as I myself burned out a few years back. It sucked, and I felt compelled to confront the topic in the book as it is a very real issue in every community, particularly technical ones.

While reading up on the subject I was looking for some concrete methods of identifying the symptoms of burnout and found a fascinating piece of research called The Burnout Cycle with it’s twelve stages. Not only did I feature this in the book, but I also prepared a presentation for Allhands and the Ubuntu Developer Summit. The presentation really resonated with folks and I heard countless stories of how people had burned out in different ways.

Well, recently I have been doing a live videocast called At Home With Jono Bacon on ustream.tv and I thought it could be useful to repeat the presentation, which would then obviously be recorded.

So, tomorrow (Wed 10th June) at 6pm UTC / 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern I will be doing the presentation and also have a Q+A. You can watch it live here. I really hope it helps. 🙂

Updates, Direct To Your Inbox

Updates, Direct To Your Inbox

Get the freshest posts with insights, approaches, tips, tricks, and recommendations delivered to you via email. Simple.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This